the little bowl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

As seen on Masterchef: Microplane Zester December 7, 2011

Filed under: Reviews — thelittlebowl @ 3:40 pm

I am truly ashamed to admit that I’ve known the existence of the Microplane Zester, even before Masterchef aired on TV… and I hadn’t brought it back home, where it truly belongs! It wasn’t until after numerous lemons and a few years of slaving over my uncooperative cheap grater, that I finally realised something was missing in my life! *cues dramatic emo music*

 

My precious....

 

After harping on the zester to death, my boyfriend and my sister decided to buy this new toy for me (they didn’t communicate beforehand so I have two! *gasp*)! I just tried the zester this evening and am now unabashedly head over heels in love with this new toy.

 

What’s so good about it?

  • Zests a whole lemon in under a minute (unless you’re zesting really leisurely)
  • Produces fine zest

    A tablespoon of fine zest and a very naked lemon

  • Doesn’t cut so deep that you grate into the white pith, the white part of the lemon peel that is bitter – a.k.a. your cakes are safe!
  • It comes in several tantalizing colours. My favourites are orange and lime green.
  • Best of all – it’s easy to clean! The zest rinses right off and doesn’t get stuck in the grooves. A standing ovation, please!

A thing of beauty

For all these reasons, if you love baking with lemon zest, you’ve got to have it! The price tag may shock you a little but trust me, it’s worth every penny.

 

Where to get this glorious tool:

Both my zesters were bought at Tools of the Trade along Dunearn Road for S$37.

 

I haven’t tried other zesters. If you have, let me know if you’ve also found a good one! 🙂

 

Disclaimer: This review is proudly sponsored by my sister and my boyfriend. 😀

 

Leave a Reply

